State Hospital Organizations

NASMHPD has an affiliation with the approximately 195 state psychiatric hospitals located throughout the United States. The facilities include hospitals for children, adults, older persons, and people who have entered the mental health system via the court system. 

In addition, NASMHPD has helped establish the following regional organizations, each of which meet annually: the Southern States Psychiatric Hospital Association (SSPHA) and the Western Psychiatric State Hospital Association (WPSHA). A contact for each regional organization is listed below.

Western Psychiatric State Hospital Association

Western Region: Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington,Wyoming.

Regional Chair: Ron Hale
Alaska Psychiatric Institute
3700 Piper Street
Anchorage, AK 99508 
Phone: 907- 269-7105 

Southern Association for State Mental Health Organizations

Southern Region: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virgin Islands, Virginia, West Virginia.

Regional Chair: James E. Smith, L.C.S.W., D.C.S.W.
North Texas State Hospital
Department of Mental Health & Mental Retardation
P.O. Box 2231
4730 College Drive
Vernon, Texas 76385
Phone: (940) 552-4000
Fax: (940) 553-2500
Web Site: