The National Coalition on Mental Health and Deaf Individuals

Welcome to the home page of the National Coalition on Mental Health and Deaf Individuals (NCMHDI)! This website will enable you to review our Mission Statement, Goals, Officers/Board Members and Contacts.

The NCMHDI is a non-profit corporation established in 2008 to provide leadership and support in the areas of public mental health and deaf and hard of hearing populations in the United States. We are specifically committed to expanding the participation of consumers/survivors in all aspects of our work. In addition, the Coalition offers technical assistance to state mental health departments who are interested in developing or modifying mental health systems of care to provide their deaf and hard of hearing populations with culturally and linguistically appropriate care.

NCMHDI Mission

To create and modify public systems of care to adequately provide culturally and linguistically appropriate mental health and substance abuse services to humans with hearing loss. We carry out this mission through research, technical assistance, networking, advocacy, and education with extensive community and stakeholder input and participation.


Shaping a world where deaf and hard of hearing people are respected, self-determining, and living well.

  • Respected – NCMHDI honors the choices of people with hearing loss and their families.
  • Self-determining – NCMHDI encourages each person to take control over his/her own life.
  • Living Well – NCMHDI holds the expectation that all humans with hearing loss are entitled to the same rights that humans with hearing hold under our Constitution; the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.


NCMHDI Goal Areas


  • Access and Early Intervention.
  • Advocacy/Empowerment
  • Training and Workforce Development
  • Service Continuum
  • Policy Development and Leadership


NCMHDI Officers/Board Members

Title Term Name State
President and CEO   Candice M. Tate  
Corporate Liaison to NASMHPD   Brian Hepburn  
NASMHPD Staff   Meighan Haupt  
Board Members
    Barry Critchfield  
    Steve Hamerdinger  
    Robert Pollard  
    Roz Rosen  
    Brad Trotter  
    Roger Williams  

Additional Information


NASMHPD Deaf Mental Health Research Priority Consensus-Planning Conference