Legal Division

The Legal Division is organized as a division of the National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors (NASMHPD).

The purpose of the Legal Division is to establish and maintain as an integrated group, members of the legal profession who are legal advisors to state mental health program directors, and others who provide legal liaison for state mental health program directors, to provide an opportunity for the exchange of information and ideas concerning mental health law; to improve professional responsibility and expertise with the study, discussion, resolution, collection, and dissemination of ideas, information, data, conclusions, and solutions with respect to the legal problems common to the field of mental health.

Executive Committee (as of January 1, 2019)

Title Term Name State
Chairperson 1/1/19 – 12/31/20  Allyson Tysinger VA
Vice Chairperson 1/1/19 – 12/31/20  Lisa Ciaston NJ
Secretary 1/1/18 – 12/31/19 Thomas B. Klinner AL
Member-at-Large 1/1/19 – 12/31/20  Vacant Vacant
Past-Chairperson 1/1/19 – 12/31/20  Lester Blumberg MA
Regional Coordinators
Northeast 1/1/19 – 12/31/20  Sarah Goncher DE
South 1/1/18 – 12/31/19 Brenda King Woodard GA
Midwest 1/1/19 – 12/31/20  Leslie Asman MI
West 1/1/18 – 12/31/19 Eric Nelson WA



Allyson Tysinger (VA)


NASMHPD Commissioner Division Advisor:



NASMHPD Division Administrators:

David Miller, M.P.Aff

Senior Operations & Project Director, NASMHPD

703-739-9333, X153

Fax: 703-548-9517


Interstate Compact Coordinators Organization

View the most current ICC roster as of August 2023


The Interstate Compact Coordinators Organization is an affiliate of the Legal Division of the National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors (NASMHPD). Many states were and still are faced with the challenge of providing an array of mental health services in accordance with state and federal mandates and to do so in a cost effective manner. As a result of these state and federal mandates the Interstate Compact on Mental Health and Mental Retardation was enacted by governing bodies of States who chose to be members. The first State to ratify the Compact was Connecticut in 1955. Today, there are forty-five states and the District of Columbia who are members of the Compact.


The Interstate Compact provides an opportunity for member states to provide a vehicle for transferring persons between states for continued treatment, returning a committed person to their state of residency when the individual left a state operated facility on an unauthorized absence, as well as to establish residency in the receiving state. Over the last fifty years, the Compact has proven to be an effective tool to secure clinically appropriate services for the people we serve and their families.

The purpose of the Interstate Compact Coordinators Organization is to provide implementation and maintenance of the Interstate Compact as adopted by the participating states through the establishment of a cohesive organization. Each state legislative body enacted laws giving authority to the Interstate Compact Administrator/Coordinator to handle all interstate matters. The designated Coordinator acts as the General Coordinator of Activities under the Compact in his/her respective state (sending or receiving).

Officers and Regional Coordinators

The officers of the Interstate Compact Coordinators Organization consist of a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Secretary. In addition, there are four Regional Coordinators who are responsible for fostering and promoting communication of information and ideas between the newly elected and established Coordinators within his/her region.

Executive Committee (as of September, 2016)

Title   Name State  
Chairperson   Vacant  
Vice Chairperson   Vacant  
Secretary   Vacant  
Regional Coordinators
West   Dean Carlisle OR
Midwest   Vacant  
Northeast   Vacant  
South   Vacant